Skip to content

Twists & Turns In the Depths

June 7, 2011

I’m home alone.

And a loud bang goes out somewhere behind me.When I turn, my heart stops. The Jerk is in my apartment!! How????

I run, run, run. He’s closer to the door. And the only way is the other way!

Running into the kitchen. Window! Sliding it open as wide as I can. I can see see the neighbors. The Jerk has already reached me. He grabs my arms. His fingernails digging deeper into my arm.

I open my mouth to scream. No sound comes out. Just like the last time I think.

Holding the window sill with all my strength. I cant let go, I just cant let go, the voice screeeches in my head. The Jerk tightens his hold. Way bigger and stronger than me. His hand moving to shut my mouth. My mouth wide open. No sound, still no sound. I’m trying harder. No sound. His hand moves over my mouth.

Desperate. My one last chance. Pulling his hand away. Lord!!!! My mouth open. Trying so hard it hurts. AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!! Pitiful scream.

I’m sitting up. Maid staring at me from across the hall. Maid? Mom runs in from the kitchen.

Falls back on the couch. Eyes closed. I’m safe, oh God, I’m safe. Realizing I’m shaking like a damn leaf.

Maid gesturing wildly at me. Mom walks over to me.

Mom: “Dammit!! Don’t pray before you sleep do you. And act like this…………”

Me: “Uhh huh”

My heart pounding wildly still, pressing into my throat. Tuning her out. Trying to breathe easy. Friggging loser still still in my head. GAhhh.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 7:53 AM

    Holy #!€@ this is brave writing… Good for you…

    • March 16, 2012 2:33 AM

      Thank you! Its usually a choice of fall or try to be brave. We all have a choice. Cheers mate!

  2. October 8, 2011 11:11 PM

    Wow!!!! This is a marvelous story. I am still shaking from it, I know that feeling well. Like I just wrote in one of my poems recently, “like a bad penny you keep coming back”. Great job!! Peace and love, Terri

  3. January 28, 2012 12:50 AM

    Is this real life unfolding, or a fictional story?

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

Leave a Reply

