Skip to content

Mind-Blown!

May 15, 2011

Breaking in the fact that I’ve depression. To Mom.

Nowhere close to the response I expected!

After the initial, “Its just in your head. Not possible” to …

Its rather awkward as she looks at me kinda weird from time to time.

Eeeeek. Guess psychiatry = crazy still huh.  LOL!

I’m waking up to a lot of issues. If Mom can act this way, I can think of the attitude people have. Realizing how hard it is for a person who obviously can’t control the under or overworking neurotransmitters in their head, to adjust.

On the positive side, Mom’s taunts have come to a standstill.

Ha ha. Looks like I’ve freaked the hell outta her. Ouch.

Really almost more than dealing with depression, its bout dealing with the people around you.

.

P.S. – Currently in love with my sertaline + bupropion. It’s heaven to feel like myself again. No more lethargy, over-sleeping, weeping spells. Hope.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Grey Goose, Dirty permalink
    May 15, 2011 8:29 PM

    Doc, depression is a widespread thing. You’re not crazy. You’re not incapable of dealing with reality. It just happens. To a ton of people. If your mom can’t understand that, then she’s a bit sheltered and closed minded.

    I think it’s great that you’re on meds and that they’re helping! Don’t let anyone make you feel bad about it. I guarantee that no less than 50% of the people that you associate with are on some sort of anti depressant or other. 😉

    • May 17, 2011 7:12 PM

      hehe thank you so much! I know, seems that way 😉 But its always harder when it comes to yourself, then it seems too much. Alright now 😀

  2. May 24, 2011 4:50 AM

    You are NOT alone. Last week I started Effexor…had a hell of a week because the dose was too high, and this week we are starting over trying the lowest dose first. I have anxiety and recently depression. I’m not a “depressed” person, just got to the point that normal life was so much to deal with that I asked for help. I’m not convinced yet that I like meds. I’m happy yours are working for you. I hope I find something that works for me. In the meantime, feel free to talk to me, message me, whatever, apparently it’s supposed to help us to talk about it!

    • May 30, 2011 11:35 AM

      thank you so much 🙂 yes with anti-depressants, always start on the lowest dose, give it some time & in case you dont feel an effect still, up the dose a little till you get it right. sure i’l b contacting u! 🙂 and a word of advice, u prolly know, but anti-depressants need a months, a week atleast to start working right in your system. patience, is the key. easy to say, hard to actually do 🙂

  3. Karen Pearce permalink
    May 24, 2011 10:48 PM

    I’ve been on Antidepressants for nearly 11 years and I’ve tried most of them. I’m currently switching from paroxetine to sertraline for my OCD/Depression/GAD. Whacky side effects from withdrawal and starting a new med, but hopefully worth it in the end. My parents and I don’t talk about my Mental Health, which is mostly my doing. I guess we just find it awkward?!?! Hopefully your Mum will come round soon 😉

    • May 30, 2011 11:41 AM

      thank you much 🙂 OCD huh! terrible, i’ve had it as a child and its kinda on & off as an adult. lucky you on the parents thing 🙂 unfortunately my mom loves sneaking around & if she gets her hands on pills before i tell her, i’m going to be declared the druggie of the house. LOL. i’m looking for your blog but cant seem to find it?? do leave me a link. all the best with your meds! 🙂

  4. June 2, 2011 7:48 AM

    You made me smile… Not sure why…. I’m hoping my new med’s start working:/

    • June 2, 2011 3:34 PM

      Hehe. Ya know, a lot of the effect is in your mind. Keep yourself open-minded. And be willing to wait for the real effects to kick in 🙂

  5. October 8, 2011 11:58 PM

    You know, my dear, that those around you who can’t handle your depression are the ones who probably are contributing to it. With the MS depression is one of the side effects and I know how awful it is to feel so out of control with your emotions. Mark, in the beginning, would ask me, “what’s wrong, baby?” and of course I’d cry, “I don’t knnnoooww!”, lol. Then he got to where he wouldn’t even ask, he’d just wrap his arms around me until I stopped crying. My depression has been under control for 6 years now, thank God! I recently had a flare up but knew immediately what to do. You have my support!! If others can’t deal with it, that’s their problem. Blessings, Terri

    • March 16, 2012 2:30 AM

      Ohh thank you so much Terri. That means a lot. Its so blessed to have that kind of love to hold you strong. Much love & happiness your way!

Leave a Reply

