Skip to content

World’s Biggest Nag – A Man

May 1, 2011

If you asked me, a few years back, in my little world who the world’s biggest nag is? And I would answer my mother.

She has this ability to be completely insensitive poking deeper and deeper into wounds new and old, just to prove she has a point.

Lol. Yes there is a point, thats why there are wounds. Ah well I’ve stopped explaining things to her, coz its really beyond her to understand emotions.

However after that victorious ride of hers, she settles. Content.

And the rest of us at peace.

More than ‘how useless you are‘ rants from my Father everytime something goes wrong, other topics of discussion other than my wonderful useless-ness haven’t really developed up. Ofcourse not that these weren’t enough.

However now that I’m in a bit of a rut, this even better side of him emerges. Haha. To think I assumed it couldn’t get worse.

The latest thing that has happened…

Today they’d gone out. I don’t like a silent house. Not ruckus I mean. I like some music or some old show in the other room to create the right environment. ‘Pin-drop’ silence is not my thing. So I let music play in the living room. Bits drifting to mine.

Suddenly they come home. The last last thing I expected happens.

Father: “Why the hell is the music on??”

Me: (Completely caught unaware) “Huh?”

Him: (screaming) “Why is there music in my house??”

Me: “Coz there was no one else home.”

For the first time in recent history, Mom says something supportive.

Mom: “She doesn’t like silence.”

Him: (jumping up & down now like a lunatic) “You are such a loser. Normal people study in silence!! Why is there music in my house?? How dare you put music!! When you have to study………”

I was studying. Thanks to him, NOW I am NOT.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 6:42 AM

    Your posts about your dad always hit close to home.

  2. mysterycoach permalink
    May 14, 2011 3:58 AM

    I’m sorry honey…

    • May 14, 2011 10:42 AM

      🙂 always a light at the end of the tunnel…thank you.

      • mysterycoach permalink
        May 14, 2011 12:16 PM

        I agree completely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

